Prufrock at Little Gidding: Sunday 9 July

An inspirational day of talks, readings, and discussions on the occasion of the centenary of TS Eliot’s first published collection, Prufrock and Other Observations.

  • The celebrated novelist Ali Smith will read “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” and discuss it with biographer Adam Begley.
  • Robert Crawford, Bishop Wardlaw Professor of Poetry at St Andrews University and author of Young Eliot: From St Louis to The Waste Land, will discuss aspects of “Prufrock”.
  • Marjorie Perloff, scholar-in-residence and Florence Scott Professor of English Emerita at the University of Southern California, will deliver the Eliot Society lecture on Four Quartets.
  • Ronald Schuchard, Goodrich C White Professor of English Emeritus at Emory University, will give an update on recent Eliot publications.
  • An annual tradition continues: “My Favourite Eliot” with contributions from the audience.
  • The programme concludes with a special guest reading of “Little Gidding”.

Featuring talks and poetry, conversation and debate, lovely food and music, the T S Eliot Festival is a delightful celebration of Eliot and of Little Gidding, and a chance to meet other Eliot enthusiasts, and friends old and new.

The Festival takes place in the garden of Ferrar House at Little Gidding. In addition to the programme of Eliot-related events, morning coffee, a two-course buffet lunch, and afternoon tea will be served.

All refreshment are included in the ticket price £40. (For members of the T S Eliot Society and the Friends of Little Gidding, tickets are £30; for students, £20.)


All-day Ticket: £40 (including all refreshments)

Members of the TS Eliot Society and the Friends of Little Gidding: £30

Students: £20

Click here for online booking

(On the Select Tickets page, Members of the Friends of Little Gidding should click on Enter Promotional Code, and enter the member’s code in order to obtain their discount. If you have have not received a code, please email and ask for it.)


Eliot Festival 2017